Skip Navigation
Leading research to understand, treat, and prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases
Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

Comparative Evolutionary Trees of Human and Insect Type I Cytokines and Cognate Receptors

Comparative evolutionary trees of human and insect type I cytokines and cognate receptors (Boulay JL, O'Shea JJ, Paul WE. Molecular phylogeny within type I cytokines and their cognate receptors

The upper portion of the figure shows Type I Cytokine Receptors, the lower portion Type I Cytokines.

The Type I Cytokine Receptors are divided into Long Type I Cytokine Receptors (left) and Short Type I Cytokine Receptors (right).

The Long Type I Cytokine Receptors consists of Group 3: Soluble α chains, Group 2: gp130 Family, and Group 1: Single Chains.

Group 3: Soluble α Chains are divided into Receptor α Chains and Cytokine β Chains.

Receptor α Chains consist of IL-6Rα, IL-11Rα and CNTFα

Cytokine β Chains consist of IL-27β, clf1, and IL-12β.

Group 2: gp130 Family consists of LifR, OSMR, GCSFR, GLMR, gp130, IL-12Rβ2, IL-23R, IL-27R, IL-12Rβ1, LptR, Dome2, Dome, and DomeA.

Group 1: Single Chains consists of creme9, TPOR, EPOR, PRLR, and GHR.

The Short Type I Cytokine Receptors consist of Group 4: Long-tailed Receptor Chains and Group 5: Short-tailed Receptor Chains.

Group 4: Long-tailed Receptor Chains consist of IL-7Rα', IL-9Rα, IL-2Rα, IL-21Rα, IL-4Rα, and IL-3Rβ.

Group 5: Short-tailed Receptor Chains consist of TSLPR, IL-2Rγ, IL-13Rα1, IL-13Rα2, IL-5Rα, GM-CSFRα and IL-3Rα.

The Type I Cytokines are divided into Long Type I Cytokines (left) and Short Type I Cytokines (right).

Long Type I Cytokines consist of the IL-6/12 Family and Ancestral Types I Cytokines.

The IL-6/12 Family consists of GP-130 Users and Heterodimeric Cytokine α Chains.

The IL-6/12 Family consists of Neuropoietic Cytokines and Hematopoietic Cytokines.

Neuropoietic Cytokines consist of CLC, CNTF, CTI, LIF, and OSM.

Hematopoietic Cytokines consist of G-CSF, IL-11, and IL-6.

Heterodimeric Cytokine &alpha Chains consist of IL-12Pr1 Users.

IL-12Pr1 Users consist of IL-12α, IL-23α, and IL27a.

Ancestral Types I Cytokines consist of OS UPD, OS2, and OS3.

Short Type I Cytokines consist of Prototypic Type I Cytokines, γ-chain Users, and IL-4 Family.

Prototypic Type I Cytokines consist of Npoietins and Hormones.

Npoietins consist of TPO and EPO.

Hormones consist of PRL and GH.

γ-chain Users consist of IL-7, TSLP, IL-9, IL-15, IL-2, IL-21, and IL-4.

IL-4 Family consists of IL-4, IL-13, IL-5, GM-CSF, and IL-3.

Last Updated August 04, 2010

Last Reviewed August 04, 2010