Skip Navigation

Mission and Planning

Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

AIDS Research Advisory Committee


Stephen W. Mason, Ph.D. (16)
Department of Discovery Virology
Research and Development
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Wallingford, Connecticut


Adaora A. Adimora M.D. (15)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine, CB #7030
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Sharon L. Hillier, Ph.D. (18)
University of Pittsburgh
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
Magee-Womens Hospital
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Amanda Castel, M.D., M.P.H. (18)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
School of Public Health and Health Services
The George Washington University
Washington, DC

John Guatelli, M.D. (18)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, California

Earnest C. Hopkins (17)
Director of Legislative Affairs
San Francisco AIDS Foundation
San Francisco, California

Jonathan Karn, Ph.D. (15)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Cleveland, Ohio

Scott M. Hammer, M.D. (18)
Professor of Epidemiology
New York Presbyterian Hospital at the Columbia University Medical Center
New York, New York

David H. O’Connor, Ph.D. (16)
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Associate Director, Wisconsin National Primate Research Center
Madison, Wisconsin

Deborah Persaud, M.D. (16)
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Infectious Diseases
Johns Hopkins Children’s Center
Baltimore, Maryland

William G. Powderly, M.D., F.R.C.P.I.  (17)
Director, Center for Global Health
Co-Director Division of Infectious Diseases
Director, Institute of Public Health
Division of Infectious Diseases
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri

Georgia Doris Tomaras, Ph.D. (15)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Associate Professor
Department of Surgery, Immunology-Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Associate Director of Research
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

Chris Wilson, M.D. (17)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Director, Discovery & Translational Sciences
Global Health Program
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, Washington

Ex-Officio Members

Jonathan Mermin, M.D., MPH
National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, Georgia

Victoria J. Davey, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate Chief Research and Development Officer for Epidemiology and Public Health
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, DC

Henry Masur, M.D.
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center
Bethesda, Maryland

Colonel Nelson Michael, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, USMHRP
Medical Corps, United States Army Chief
Rockville, Maryland

Jack Whitescarver, Ph.D.
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH
Rockville, Maryland


Roy M. Gulick, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
New York, New York​​

Last Updated March 12, 2015