Skip Navigation
Leading research to understand, treat, and prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases
Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

2010 National Advisory Allergy and Infectious Diseases Council

The National Advisory Allergy and Infectious Diseases Council represents a diverse perspective on science, health, and the human impact of disease. Its 18 voting members include 12 health or science experts and 6 lay members. Members usually serve 4-year terms. Five nonvoting ex officio members provide liaison with higher-level federal agencies with missions consistent with NIAID's.

The council plays four key roles:

  1. Performs second-level review of grants.
  2. Advises on policy relevant to the function of the Institute.
  3. Reviews new programs proposed by NIAID.
  4. Develops and approves research concepts for funding opportunity announcements.

National Advisory Allergy and Infectious Diseases Council

Chair: Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., Director, NIAID
Executive Secretary: Marvin Kalt, Ph.D., Director, Division of Extramural Activities, NIAID
FY 2010 Council Members  
Ann M. Arvin, M.D. (2011)* Stanford University School of Medicine
Robert G. Brooks, M.B.A., M.D. (2010) Florida State University College of Medicine
Carol A. Carter, Ph.D. (2011) State University of New York at Stony Brook
Connie L. Celum, M.P.H., M.D. (2013) University of Washington at Seattle
Nelson J. Chao, M.D. (2013) Duke University Medical Center at Durham
Satya Dandekar, Ph.D. (2010) University of California, Davis
Sharon C. Kiely, M.D. (2010) Allegheny General Hospital Department of Medicine
William Mclin, MS. (2012) Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
Louis J. Picker, M.D. (2011) Oregon Health Sciences University
Regina Rabinovich, M.D., M.P.H. (2011) Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Marc E. Rothenberg, M.D., Ph.D. (2010) University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
George R. Siber, M.D. (2013) Genocea Biosciences, Inc.
Samuel L. Stanley Jr., M.D. (2012) Stony Brook University
Jenny P.Y. Ting, Ph.D. (2013) University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Christel Uittenbogaart, M.D. (2011) University of California, Los Angeles
Christopher M. Walker, Ph.D. (2012) Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus
Richard J. Whitley, M.D. (2012) University of Alabama at Birmingham
David S. Wilkes, M.D. (2010) Indiana University School of Medicine
Ex Officio Members  
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D. National Institutes of Health
Bruce Gellin, M.D., M.P.H. Department of Health and Human Services
Rima F. Khabbaz, M.D. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Victoria J. Davey, Ph.D., M.P.H. Department of Veterans Affairs
James K. Gilman, M.D. U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command
* Denotes the end of the NIAID Council member’s term.
Learn more about the National Advisory Allergy and Infectious Diseases Council.

Last Updated November 17, 2011

Last Reviewed August 03, 2011