Skip Navigation
Skip Website Tools
Centers for AIDS Research

Centers for AIDS Research

Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

About CFAR

The Centers for AIDS Research (CFAR) program at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) provides administrative and shared research support to synergistically enhance and coordinate high quality AIDS research projects. CFARs accomplish this through core facilities that provide expertise, resources, and services not otherwise readily obtained through more traditional funding mechanisms.

The CFAR program emphasizes the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration, especially between basic and clinical investigators, translational research in which findings from the laboratory are brought to the clinic and vice versa, and an emphasis upon inclusion of minorities and inclusion of prevention and behavioral change research.

This program was originally begun by the NIAID Division of AIDS in 1988 and most recently renewed through a 2010 program announcement. CFARs are co-funded by seven NIH Institutes

  1. National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
  2. National Cancer Institute (NCI)
  3. Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
  4. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
  5. National Institute on Drug Abuse, (NIDA)
  6. National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
  7. National Institute on Aging (NIA)

The CFAR program is scientifically managed by these seven NIH Institutes as well as

  • Office of AIDS Research (OAR)
  • Fogarty International Center (FIC)


  • The NIAID Division of AIDS announces a new co-funding Institute to the Centers for AIDS Research program—the National Institute on Aging (NIA)—further expanding CFAR's multidisciplinary approach to address the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

See Also

back to top

NIH Co-Funding and Participating Institutes and Centers: NIAID, NCI, NICHD, NHLBI, NIDA, NIMH, NIA, NIDDK, NIGMS, FIC, and OAR

Last Updated July 06, 2012