Skip Navigation
Leading research to understand, treat, and prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases
Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee Members

Chairperson

Georgia D. Tomaras, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Surgery, Immunology and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Director of Research, Duke Human Vaccine Institute (DHVI)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
E-mail: georgia.tomaras@duke.edu

Executive Secretary

James A. Bradac, Ph.D.
Chief, Preclinical Research and Development Branch
Vaccine Research Program
DAIDS, NIAID, NIH
6700-B Rockledge Drive, Rm. 5134
Bethesda, MD 20892-7628
E-mail: jbradac@niaid.nih.gov

Assistant to Executive Secretary

Jessica Santos
Program Analyst
Vaccine Research Program
DAIDS, NIAID, NIH
Bethesda, Maryland
Email: jessica.santos@nih.gov

Members

Aftab A. Ansari, Ph.D.
Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
101 Woodruff Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322-4250
E-mail: pathaaa@emory.edu

Donald Forthal, M.D.
Professor and Chief of Infectious Diseases
University of California Irvine College of Medicine
3521 Hewitt Hall
Irvine, CA 92697-4068
E-mail: dnfortha@uci.edu

George Lewis, PhD
Professor and Co-Director, Division of Basic Science and Vaccine Research
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Institute of Human Virology
725 E. Lombard Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Email: glewis@ihv.umaryland.edu

Jeffrey D. Lifson, M.D.  
Director, AIDS and Cancer Virus Program
Leidos Biomedical Research, Inc.
Frederick National Laboratory for
Cancer Research
Frederick, MD 21702-1201
E-mail: lifson@ncifcrf.gov

Nina D. Russell, M.D.
Deputy Director, HIV Vaccines
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
E-mail: Nina.Russell@gatesfoundation.org

Jerald C. Sadoff, M.D.
Head of Early Development
Crucell Vaccine Institute
Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson
Archimedesweg 4-6, P.O. Box 2048
2301 CA Leiden, The Netherlands
E-mail: jerald.sadoff@crucell.com

William Snow, M.A.
Director, Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise
New York, NY
E-mail: wsnow@vaccineenterprise.org

Leonidas Stamatatos, PhD
Associate Head of the Immunology and Vaccine Development Program
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave N.
Seattle, WA 98109
Email: lstamata@fredhutch.org

Ex Officio members

Rama Rao Amara, Ph. D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Yerkes National Primate Research Center
954 Gatewood Road
Atlanta, GA, 30329
E-mail: ramara@emory.edu

Jay A. Berzofsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Vaccine Branch
NCI, NIH
Building 10, Rm 6B-04
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
E-mail: berzofsk@helix.nih.gov

Salvatore T. Butera, DVM, PhD
Science Officer, Scripps CHAVI-ID
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA
E-mail: sbutera@scripps.edu

Lawrence Corey, M.D.
President and Director Emeritus
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Principal Investigator, HVTN
1100 Fairview Avenue North, D3-100
P.O. Box 19024
Seattle, WA 98109-1024
E-mail: lcorey@fhcrc.org

Eric Hunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
Emory Vaccine Center
954 Gatewood Road
Atlanta, GA 30329
E-mail: ehunte4@emory.edu

Bette Korber, Ph.D.
Laboratory Fellow
T6, MS K710
Theoretical Biology and Biophysics
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
E-mail: btk@lanl.gov

John Mascola, M.D.
Director, Vaccine Research Center
NIAID, NIH
40 Convent Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-1853
E-mail: jmascola@mail.nih.gov

Bonnie Mathieson, Ph.D.
Office of AIDS Research
National Institutes of Health, DHHS 5601 Fishers Lane,
Rockville, MD 20852
E-mail: MathiesB@od31em1.od.nih.gov

Nelson L. Michael, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, U.S. Military HIV Research Program (MHRP)
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Bethesda, MD
E-mail: nmichael@hivresearch.org

Last Updated May 04, 2016