Skip Navigation


Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +


There are five species of Ebola virus, named for the locations in which they were first recognized. Four of the five subtypes have caused disease in humans: Ebola-Zaire, Ebola-Sudan/Gulu, Ebola-Ivory Coast, and Ebola-Bundibugyo. The fifth, Ebola-Reston, has caused disease in nonhuman primates (gorillas, chimpanzees, and monkeys) but not in humans.

Last Updated May 14, 2010

Last Reviewed May 14, 2010