Skip Navigation

Global Research

Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

East Asia-Pacific

The Asia region comprises the eastern countries on the Asian continent and the continents and islands in the Pacific Ocean. It is characterized by extreme diversity in size and population of individual countries; according to the World Health Organization (WHO), China has more than 1 billion people and Kiribati has a population of 101,000. Economic development is equally diverse. WHO reports Australia’s gross national income per capita to be $43,300 versus $2,960 in Laos.

There are also major differences in the types of diseases that affect people in the region, the capacity of each country to respond to health challenges, and the current status and future trends in health and health care. Moreover, some of the countries in this region are prone to severe natural disasters, such as earthquakes and floods, leading to additional health and survival challenges.

NIAID priorities for research in this region include HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and emerging diseases such as avian influenza. NIAID has also funded research related to major endemic diseases such as amebiasis and cholera, filariasis, rotavirus, hepatitis C, and dengue fever.

Countries With NIAID-Funded Activities (Fiscal Year 2013)

  • Malaysia
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand
  • North Korea
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Singapore


View Larger Map



back to top

Last Updated January 29, 2014