Skip Navigation

Global Research

Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +


Europe encompasses approximately 50 countries that feature cultural, linguistic, economic, and geographic diversity. The 28 member states of the European Union (EU) each present unique opportunities and challenges for international research collaboration.

This region faces local disease burdens such as tuberculosis, vector-borne illnesses, and tickborne infections, as well as newly emerging health risks such as chikungunya virus and dengue. New cases of HIV infection present a growing problem in Eastern Europe, where the primary mode of transmission is among people who inject drugs, according to the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS).

This region also presents opportunities for research on immunological conditions such as peanut allergy, which continues to emerge in the United Kingdom despite public health measures to discourage peanut exposure during infancy. European researchers are part of the Immune Tolerance Network, an international consortium co-sponsored by NIAID that is dedicated to the clinical evaluation of new tolerance-inducing therapies for autoimmune diseases, asthma and allergic diseases, and transplant rejection.

NIAID priorities for this region include research on HIV/AIDS, mosquito-borne illnesses, influenza, and basic immunology.

Countries With NIAID-Funded Activities (Fiscal Year 2013)

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom


View Larger Map


back to top

Last Updated September 17, 2014

Last Reviewed September 17, 2014