Skip Navigation


Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

What Is Sinusitis?

"Sinusitis" simply means your sinuses are inflamed―red and swollen―because of an infection or another problem. There are several types of sinusitis. Health experts usually identify them as follows:

  • Acute, which lasts up to 4 weeks
  • Subacute, which lasts 4 to 12 weeks
  • Chronic, which lasts more than 12 weeks and can continue for months or even years
  • Recurrent, with several attacks within a year

In 2011, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported that nearly 30 million adults were diagnosed with sinusitis. Women were almost twice as likely as men to receive the diagnosis, and there were more cases in the southern United States than elsewhere in the country.

Last Updated August 19, 2013

Last Reviewed August 19, 2013