Skip Navigation


Skip Content Marketing
  • Share this:
  • submit to facebook
  • Tweet it
  • submit to reddit
  • submit to StumbleUpon
  • submit to Google +

Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine Related to Transplantation


Year Laureate Discovery
1912 Alexis Carrel (France) "in recognition of his work on vascular suture and the transplantation of blood vessels and organs"
1930 Karl Landsteiner (Austria) "for his discovery of human blood groups"
1960 Sir Frank Burnet (Australia)

Peter Medawar (United Kingdom)
"for discovery of acquired immunological tolerance"
1980 Baruj Benacerraf (United States)

Jean Dausset (France)

George Snell (United States)
"for their discoveries concerning genetically determined structures on the cell surface that regulate immunological reactions"
1988 Sir James Black (United Kingdom)

Gertrude Elion (United States)

George Hitchings (United States)
"for their discoveries of important principles for drug treatment"
1990 Joseph Murray (United States)

E. Donnall Thomas (United States)
"for their discoveries concerning organ and cell transplantation in the treatment of human disease"
1996 Peter C. Doherty (Australia)

Rolf M. Zinkernagel (Switzerland)
"for their discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence"
Information provided by the Nobel Foundation

back to top

Last Updated March 23, 2010