South Asia International Center of Excellence for Malaria Research

Malaria Evolution in South Asia

Principal Investigator: Pradipsinh Rathod, Ph.D.
Lead Institution: University of Washington, Seattle

Award date: Original award in 2010; renewed in 2017

Pradipsinh Rathod

Pradipsinh Rathod, Ph.D.

Project Leads

  • Pradipsinh K. Rathod, University of Washington (Epidemiology of Drug Resistance)
  • Neena Valecha, National Institute of Malaria Research (Transmission -Vector Parasite Compatibility)
  • Manoj Duraisingh, Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health (Pathogenesis & Infection)

Collaborating Institutions

  • ACIST Consulting (Thane, Maharashtra)
  • Agartala Government Medical College (Agartala, Tripura)
  • Assam Medical College (Dibrugarh, Assam)
  • Goa Medical College (Bambolim, Goa)
  • Indian Institute of Technology – Bombay (Mumbai, Maharashtra)
  • Ispat General Hospital (Rourkela, Orissa)
  • King Edward Memorial Hospital (Mumbai, Maharashtra)
  • Krishi Gram Vikas Kendra (Ranchi, Jharkhand)
  • Model Rural Health Research Unit (Agartala, Tripura)
  • National Institute of Malaria Research Field Unit (Panaji, Goa)
  • National Institute of Malaria Research Headquarters (New Delhi)
  • Regional Medical Research Centre, NE Region (Diburgarh, Assam)
  • Center for Infectious Disease Research (Seattle, WA)
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center (Seattle, WA)
  • Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health (Boston, MA)
  • Stanford University (Stanford, CA)

Research Areas

The overall goal of the South Asia ICEMR is to understand how the genetic plasticity or adaptability of malaria parasites in the region affects drug resistance, virulence, transmission and human immunity.

Regional Impact

Center activities and findings assist in the evaluation of malaria threat levels in India and provide insight into global transmission of virulent malaria through South Asia.

View Associated sites for the South Asia ICEMR in a larger map

Map description: Associated sites in India (Panaji, Goa; Mumbai, Maharashtra; Agartala, Tripura; Dibrugarh, Assam; Rourkela, Orissa; New Delhi)

Select Publications from 2010 Award

Content last reviewed on July 3, 2017