“What is the threshold to report first-tier subawards and executive compensation under FFATA?”

Funding News Edition: October 06, 2021
See more articles in this edition

You must report information under the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) if your grant or cooperative agreement fits (or previously fit) all three of the following criteria:

  1. Made a subaward obligation of $30,000 or more
  2. Was issued on or after October 1, 2010
  3. Was one of the following Types:
    • Type 1. New competing award
    • Type 6. Change of organization status (successor-in-interest)
    • Type 7. Change of grantee or training institution
    • Type 8. Change of awarding NIH institute or center (IC)

Once your award initially qualifies as described above, FFATA requirements continue throughout all subsequent types of award actions. That includes any Type 5 or 9 noncompeting continuation years and Type 2 renewals.

Refer to NIH Grants Policy Statement Section Recipient Reporting of Subrecipient Data and Executive Compensation Information for FFATA for complete details.

Contact Us

Email us at deaweb@niaid.nih.gov for help navigating NIAID’s grant and contract policies and procedures.

Content last reviewed on