AIDS Research Advisory Committee

Chairperson

Kenneth A. Freedberg, M.D., MSc
Director, Medical Practice Evaluation Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Email: kfreedberg@mgh.harvard.edu

Members

Elaine Abrams, M.D.
Professor, Epidemiology and Pediatrics
Columbia University Medical Center
Email: eja1@columbia.edu

Richard T. D’Aquila, M.D.
Associate Vice-President for Research, Northwestern University
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, Feinberg School of Medicine
The Howard Taylor Ricketts Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Feinberg School of Medicine
Director, Third Coast Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
Director, Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences (NUCATS) Institute
Email: richard.daquila@northwestern.edu
 
Ian Frank, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Email: franki@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Reuben S. Harris, Ph.D.
Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics
Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics
Associate Director of the Institute for Molecular Virology
University of Minnesota
Email: rsh@umn.edu
 
Kimberly Y. Smith, M.D., M.P.H. 
Senior Vice President and Head of Research and Development
ViiV Healthcare
Email: Kimberly.y.smith@viivhealthcare.com

Stephaun E. Wallace, Ph.D., MS
Staff Scientist, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division, Fred Hutch
Director of External Relations, HIV Vaccine Trials Network, Fred Hutch
Clinical Assistant Professor, Dept. of Global Health, University of Washington
Email: sewallac@fredhutch.org

NIAID Advisory Council Liaisons

Ritu Agarwal, Ph.D., MBA, MS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Distinguished University Professor and Interim Dean
Director, Center for Health Information and Decision Systems
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Email: ragar@umd.edu

Monica Gandhi, M.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor of Medicine and Associate Chief, Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases, and Global Medicine
Director, UCSF-Gladstone Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
Medical Director, “Ward 86” HIV Clinic, San Francisco General Hospital
Email: monica.gandhi@ucsf.edu

Paul Goepfert, M.D.
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor of Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director, Alabama Vaccine Research Clinic (AVRC)
Email: pgoepfert@uabmc.edu

Amita Gupta, M.D., MHS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Deputy Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Clinical Global Health Education
Professor of Medicine and International Health, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Email: agupta25@jhmi.edu

Audrey Pettifor, Ph.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Gillings School of Global Public Health
Email: apettif@email.unc.edu

Ex-Officio Members 

Maureen Goodenow, Ph.D.
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH
Email: maureen.goodenow@nih.gov

Henry Masur, M.D.
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center
Email: hmasur@cc.nih.gov

Demetre Daskalakis, M.D., MPH
Director, Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Email: yzq5@cdc.gov

Melissa Turner, MSW, LICSW, MPA
Social Work Coordinator for National Programs in HIV Clinical Research
Washington Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Email: Melissa.Turner@va.gov

Office of AIDS Research Advisory Council Liaison

Tricia H. Burdo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Neuroscience
Associate Professor, Center for Neurovirology
Temple University
Email: burdot@temple.edu

Content last reviewed on