AIDS Research Advisory Committee

Chairperson

Kenneth A. Freedberg, M.D., MSc
Director, Medical Practice Evaluation Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Email: kfreedberg@mgh.harvard.edu

Members

Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D. 
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Head, Laboratory of Retrovirology
The Rockefeller University
Email: Paul.Bieniasz@rockefeller.edu
 
Richard Chaisson, M.D.
(NIAID Advisory Council Representative to OARAC)
Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Email: rchaiss@jhmi.edu
 
Ian Frank, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Email: franki@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
 
Elizabeth J. McFarland, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics-Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Email: BETSY.MCFARLAND@CUANSCHUTZ.EDU
 
Kimberly Y. Smith, M.D., M.P.H. 
Senior Vice President and Head of Research and Development
ViiV Healthcare
Email: Kimberly.y.smith@viivhealthcare.com

Ex-Officio Members

Ritu Agarwal, Ph.D., MBA, MS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Distinguished University Professor and Interim Dean
Director, Center for Health Information and Decision Systems
Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Email: ragar@umd.edu

Monica Gandhi, M.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor of Medicine and Associate Chief, Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases, and Global Medicine
Director, UCSF-Gladstone Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
Medical Director, “Ward 86” HIV Clinic, San Francisco General Hospital
Email: monica.gandhi@ucsf.edu

Paul Goepfert, M.D.
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor of Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director, Alabama Vaccine Research Clinic (AVRC)
Email: pgoepfert@uabmc.edu

Amita Gupta, M.D., MHS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Deputy Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Clinical Global Health Education
Professor of Medicine and International Health, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Email: agupta25@jhmi.edu

Audrey Pettifor, Ph.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Gillings School of Global Public Health
Email: apettif@email.unc.edu
 
Maureen Goodenow, Ph.D.
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH
Email: maureen.goodenow@nih.gov

Henry Masur, M.D.
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center
Email: hmasur@cc.nih.gov

Victoria J. Davey, Ph.D., MPH
Associate Chief Research and Development Officer for Epidemiology and Public Health
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration, 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Email: Victoria.davey@va.gov

Eugene McCray, M.D.
Director, Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, NCHHSTP
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Email: ecm1@cdc.gov
 
Melissa Turner, MSW, LICSW, MPA
Social Work Coordinator for National Programs in HIV Clinical Research
Washington Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Email: Melissa.Turner@va.gov

Office of AIDS Research Advisory Council Liaison

Tricia H. Burdo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Neuroscience
Associate Professor, Center for Neurovirology
Temple University
Email: burdot@temple.edu

Content last reviewed on