AIDS Research Advisory Committee


Kenneth A. Freedberg, M.D., MSc
Director, Medical Practice Evaluation Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School


Elaine Abrams, M.D.
Professor, Epidemiology and Pediatrics
Columbia University Medical Center

Richard T. D’Aquila, M.D.
Associate Vice-President for Research, Northwestern University
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research, Feinberg School of Medicine
The Howard Taylor Ricketts Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Feinberg School of Medicine
Director, Third Coast Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
Director, Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences (NUCATS) Institute
Ian Frank, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

Reuben S. Harris, Ph.D.
Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor and Chairman, Department of Biochemistry & Structural Biology
University of Texas Health San Antonio 

Stephaun E. Wallace, Ph.D., MS
Staff Scientist, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division, Fred Hutch
Director of External Relations, HIV Vaccine Trials Network, Fred Hutch
Clinical Assistant Professor, Dept. of Global Health, University of Washington

NIAID Advisory Council Liaisons

Ritu Agarwal, Ph.D., MBA, MS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
William Polk Carey Distinguished Professor | Information Systems and Health
Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

Monica Gandhi, M.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor of Medicine and Associate Chief, Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases, and Global Medicine
Director, UCSF-Gladstone Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
Medical Director, “Ward 86” HIV Clinic, San Francisco General Hospital

Paul Goepfert, M.D.
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor of Medicine
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director, Alabama Vaccine Research Clinic (AVRC)

Amita Gupta, M.D., MHS
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Director, Division of Infectious Diseases, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Professor of Medicine and International Health, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Faculty Co-chair, Johns Hopkins India Institute

Keith R. Jerome, M.D., Ph.D.
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center
Professor and Head, Virology Division
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
University of Washington

Audrey Pettifor, Ph.D., MPH
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee
Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Gillings School of Global Public Health

Ex-Officio Members 

Maureen Goodenow, Ph.D.
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH

Henry Masur, M.D.
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center

Demetre Daskalakis, M.D., MPH
Director, Division of HIV Prevention
National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Melissa Turner, MSW, LICSW, MPA
Social Work Coordinator for National Programs in HIV Clinical Research
Washington Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Office of AIDS Research Advisory Council Liaison

Jonah B. Sacha, Ph.D.
Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute
Oregon Health and Science University

Content last reviewed on