AIDS Research Advisory Committee

Chairperson

Cara Wilson, MD (19)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
University of Colorado at Denver
Medicine – Infectious Diseases, Mail Stop #B168
Building P15 Research 2, Room #11011
12700 E. 19th Ave (P.O. Box 6511)
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: 303-724-4926
Email: Cara.Wilson@ucdenver.edu

Members

Aftab A. Ansari, Ph.D. (19)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Emory University of School of Medicine
101 Woodruff Circle, Room 2309 WMB
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: 404-712-2834
Fax: 404-712-1771
Email: pathaaa@emory.edu

Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D. (20)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor and Head, Laboratory of Retrovirology
Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center, The Rockefeller University
455 First Avenue, New York, 10016
Phone: (212) 448 5070
Email: pbienias@adarc.org

Amanda Castel, M.D., M.P.H. (18)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
School of Public Health and Health Services
The George Washington University
950 New Hampshire Ave., 504-Floor 5
Washington, DC 20052
Phone: 202-994-8325
Email: acastel@gwu.edu

Dick Chaisson, M.D. (20)
Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
1550 Orleans Street, 1M.08
Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Phone: (410) 955-1755
Email: rchaiss@jhmi.edu

John Guatelli, M.D. (18)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Professor of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, #0679
La Jolla, CA 92093
Phone: 619-552-7439
Email: jguatelli@ucsd.edu

Scott M. Hammer, M.D. (18)
Professor of Epidemiology
New York Presbyterian Hospital at the Columbia University Medical Center
622 West 168th St
New York, NY 10032
Phone: 212-305-7185
Email: smh48@cumc.columbia.edu

Sharon L. Hillier, Ph.D. (18)
University of Pittsburgh
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences
Magee-Womens Hospital
300 Halket Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: 412-641-5435
Email: shillier@mail.magee.edu

Sally L. Hodder, M.D. (19)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Director, West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute
P.O. Box 9102 : HSC 2245D
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: 304-581-1842
Fax: 304-293-4200
Email: slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu

Earnest C. Hopkins (17)
Director of Legislative Affairs
San Francisco AIDS Foundation
1035 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone: 415-487-3096
Email: ehopkins@sfaf.org

Elizabeth J. McFarland, M.D. (20)
Professor of Pediatrics-Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
13123 E. 16th Ave., Box 55
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: 720-777-6981
Email: Betsy.McFarland@ucdenver.edu

William G. Powderly, M.D., F.R.C.P.I.  (17)
Director, Center for Global Health
Co-Director Division of Infectious Diseases
Director, Institute of Public Health
Division of Infectious Diseases
Washington University School of Medicine
Campus 8051, 660 South Euclid Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: 314-454-8215
Email: wpowderl@dom.wustl.edu

Chris Wilson, M.D. (17)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
Phone:  206-419-9312
Email: cbwilson@uw.edu

Ex-Officio Members

Victoria J. Davey, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate Chief Research and Development Officer for Epidemiology and Public Health
Office of Research and Development
Veterans Health Administration
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
1717 H St, NW #570
Washington, DC 20420
Phone: 202-461-1008
Email: Victoria.davey@va.gov

Maureen Goodenow, Ph.D.
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH
5601 Fishers Lane, Rm 2F42
Rockville, MD 20852
Phone: 301-496-0357
Email: Maureen.goodenow@nih.gov  

Henry Masur, M.D.
Chief, Critical Care Medicine
NIH Clinical Center, Building 10, Room 7D-43
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-496-9320
Email: hmasur@cc.nih.gov

Jonathan Mermin, M.D., M.P.H.
Director
National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1600 Clifton Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30333
Email: jhm7@cdc.gov

Colonel Nelson Michael, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, USMHRP
Medical Corps, United States Army Chief
1600 East Gude Drive
Rockville, MD 20850
Phone: 301-251-5051
Email: nmichael@hivresearch.org

Office of AIDS Research Advisory Committee Liaison

Roy M. Gulick, M.D.
Professor
Department of Medicine
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
New York, NY​​
Phone: 212-746-6320
Email: rgulick@med.cornell.edu

Content last reviewed on February 1, 2017