Board of Scientific Counselors


Steven L. Kunkel, Ph.D. (20) Co-chair
Senior Associate Dean for Research
Endowed Professor in Pathology Research
University of Michigan

Jennifer Puck, M.D. (19) Co-chair
University of California, San Francisco
Department of Pediatrics
Smith Cardiovascular Research Institute

Avery August, Ph.D. (22)
HHMI Professor
Professor of Immunology and
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Cornell Institute for Host-Microbe
Interactions & Disease
Cornell University

Polly Ferguson, M.D. (22)
Professor; Director, Pediatric Rheumatology
Department of Pediatrics
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine  

JoAnne L. Flynn, Ph.D. (21)
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Daniel E. Goldberg, M.D., Ph.D. (19)
David M. and Paula L. Kipnis Distinguished Professor
Co-Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
Washington University

Jose G. Montoya, M.D. (22)
Professor, Med Center Line
Director, Nationals Reference Laboratory for the
Study and Diagnosis of Toxoplasmosis
Infectious Disease Clinic

Eric G. Pamer, M.D. (19)
Division of General Medicine
Department of Medicine
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D. (19)
Maurice R. and Corine P. Greenberg
Professor in Virology
The Rockefeller University Chief

Jenny P.Y. Ting, Ph.D. (19)
Distingushed Professor
Department of Genetics
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Executive Secretary

Steve M. Holland, M.D.
Director, Division of Intramural Research
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH

Content last reviewed on May 6, 2019