Trans-NIH Microbiome Working Group (TMWG)

The Trans-NIH Microbiome Working Group (TMWG) was established in 2012 by Dr. Lita Proctor (NHGRI) to provide a forum for coordinating NIH extramural research activities related to the human microbiome. TMWG membership is open to all extramural program staff from ICs with an interest in the human microbiome. The TMWG meets monthly.

Main Area of Focus

  • To provide a forum for coordinating NIH extramural research activities related to the human microbiome

Points of Contact

Below is a list of extramural program staff who have agreed to serve as the primary point of contact for their Institute for microbiome research related inquiries. They will address general questions and, if needed, will direct your inquiries to the appropriate program director in their Institute

ICO Program Staff Email
NIAID Ryan Ranallo (Co-chair) ryan.ranallo@nih.gov
NCI Phil Daschner (Co-chair) daschnep@mail.nih.gov
NHGRI Lisa Chadwick lisachadwick@mail.nih.gov
NCATS P.J. Brooks pjbrooks@dicbr.niaaa.nih.gov
NHLBI Lis Caler lis.caler@nih.gov
NIA Francesca Macchiarini francesca.macchiarini@nih.gov
NIAAA Joe Wang wangh4@mail.nih.gov
NIAMS Ricardo R. Cibotti cibottirr@mail.nih.gov
NICHD Tonse Raju tr146h@nih.gov
NIDA Jag H. Khalsa jkhalsa@nida.nih.gov
NIDCR Dwayne Lunsford lunsfordr@nidcr.nih.gov
NIDDK Bob Karp karpr@extra.niddk.nioh.gov
NIEHS Anika Dzierlenga anika.dzierlenga@nih.gov
NIGMS Darren Sledjeski sledjeskid@nigms.nih.gov
NIMH Nancy Desmond ndesmond@mail.nih.gov
NIMHD Michael Sayre sayrem@mail.nih.gov
NINR Lois Tully lois.tully@nih.gov
ODS Cindy Davis davisci@od.nih.gov
ODP Ashley Vargas ashley.vargas@nih.gov
Content last reviewed on