US-Japan Cooperative Medical Sciences Program Delegation

Japanese Chair

Dr. Ichiro Kurane
Former Director-General
National Institute of Infectious Diseases
kurane@nih.go.jp

U.S. Chair

Dr. Diane Griffin
Professor
Center for Global Health
Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
dgriffi6@jhu.edu

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Tetsuro Matano
Professor, Director
Institute of Medical Science
The University of Tokyo
matano@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. David McDonald
Program Officer, Basic Sciences Program
Division of AIDS, NIAID/NIH

Acute Respiratory Infections Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Yohei Doi
Professor
Fujita Health University School of Medicine
yod4@pitt.edu

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Kristina Lu
Program Officer, Respiratory Diseases Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH

Cholera and Other Enteric Bacterial Infections Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Mitsuaki Nishibuchi
Professor
Center for Southeast Asian Studies
Kyoto University
nisibuti@cseas.kyoto-u.ac.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Robert Hall
Program Officer, Sexually Transmitted Diseases Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH

Cancer Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Yukari Totsuka
National Cancer Center (NCC)
ytotsuka@ncc.go.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Marie Ricciardone
Center for Global Health, NCI/NIH

Hepatitis Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Takaji Wakita
Director-General
National Institute of Infectious Diseases
wakita@nih.go.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Rajen Koshy
Program Officer, Virology Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH

Immunology Board

Japanese Chair

Dr. Hiroshi Kiyono
Professor
Institute of Medical Science
The University of Tokyo
kiyono@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Stacy Ferguson
Program Officer, Basic Immunology Branch
Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation, NIAID/NIH

Nutrition and Metabolism Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Nobuya Inagaki
Professor
Department of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Nutrition
Graduate School of Medicine
Kyoto University
inagaki@metab.kuhp.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Parasitic Diseases Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Shigeyuki Kano
National Center for Global Health and Medicine
kano@ri.ncgm.go.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Malla Rao
Program Officer, Deputy Branch Chief, Parasitology and International Programs Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH
mrao@niaid.nih.gov

Mycobacteria Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Yasuhiko Suzuki
Professor
Research Center for Zoonosis Control
Hokkaido University
suzuki@czc.hokudai.ac.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Alison Kraigsley
Program Officer, Respiratory Diseases Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH

Viral Diseases Panel

Japanese Chair

Dr. Jiro Arikawa
Professor
Department of Microbiology
Graduate School of Medicine
Hokkaido University
j_arika@med.hokudai.ac.jp

U.S. Secretariat

Dr. Eun-Chung Park
Program Officer, Virology Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, NIAID/NIH

Content last reviewed on