About Centers for AIDS Research

The Centers for AIDS Research (CFAR) program at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) provides administrative and shared research support to synergistically enhance and coordinate high quality AIDS research projects. CFARs accomplish this through core facilities that provide expertise, resources, and services not otherwise readily obtained through more traditional funding mechanisms.

The CFAR program emphasizes the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration, especially between basic and clinical investigators, translational research in which findings from the laboratory are brought to the clinic and vice versa, and an emphasis upon inclusion of minorities and inclusion of prevention and behavioral change research.

This program was originally begun by the NIAID Division of AIDS in 1988 and most recently renewed through a 2021 program announcement. CFARs are co-funded by eleven NIH Institutes:

  1. National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
  2. National Cancer Institute (NCI)
  3. Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
  4. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
  5. National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
  6. National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
  7. National Institute on Aging (NIA)
  8. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
  9. National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
  10. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
  11. National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

The CFAR program is scientifically managed by these NIH Institutes as well as

  • Office of AIDS Research (OAR)
  • Fogarty International Center (FIC)
Content last reviewed on