Centers for AIDS Research (CFAR) Site Contacts

CenterRoleContact Information

Rustbelt Center for AIDS Research (Case/UHC-Pitt CFAR)

Case Western Reserve University
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology
10900 Euclid Avenue
Room W200; LC 4960
Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone: 216-368-3420 (main)

Website: https://www.rustbeltcfar.org

MPI:Jonathan Karn, Ph.D.
Phone: 216-368-3915
Email: jonathan.karn@case.edu
MPI:Sharon Hillier, Ph.D.
Phone: 412-641-6435
Email: shillier@mail.magee.edu
Co-Director:Alan Levine, Ph.D.
Phone: 216-368-0342
Email: alan.levine@case.edu
Co-Director:Nicolas Sluis-Cremer, Ph.D.
Phone: 412-648-8457
Email: nps2@pitt.edu
Financial Administrator:Dorothy Canepari
Phone: 216-368-3947
Email: dorothy.canepari@case.edu
Coordinator:Michelle Leszczewski
Phone: 412-641-8927
Email: leszczewskimn@upmc.edu

District of Columbia CFAR

George Washington University, American University, Children's National Health System, DC Health, Georgetown University, Howard University, Washington DC Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Whitman-Walker Health, and Us Helping Us
950 New Hampshire Ave., NW
5th Floor
Washington DC, 20052

Website: https://dccfar.gwu.edu/

Director:Alan E. Greenberg, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone: 202-994-0612
Fax: 202-994-0082
Email: aeg1@gwu.edu
Co-Director:Manya Magnus, Ph.D, M.P.H.
Phone: 202-994-3024
Fax: 202-994-0082
Email: manyadm@gwu.edu
Co-Director:Amanda D. Castel, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone: 202-994-8325
Fax: 202-994-0082
Email: acastel@gwu.edu
Administrative Director:Brandi Robinson, M.P.H.
Phone: 202-994-4730
Email: bnrobin@gwu.edu
Senior Research Program Manager:Lorena Segarra, M.P.H.
Phone: 202-994-5738
Email: lsegarra@gwu.edu

Duke Center for AIDS Research

Duke Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
204 SORF (Bldg. 41), LaSalle St. Extension
Box 2926 Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710-2926
Phone: 919-684-6875
Fax: 919-684-4288

Website: http://cfar.duke.edu

Director:Georgia Tomaras, Ph.D.
Phone: 919-681-5598
Email: gdt@duke.edu
Co-Director:Susanna Naggie, M.D.
Phone: 919-684-2584
Email: Susanna.naggie@duke.edu
Administrator:Mary Oris
Phone: 919-684-6875
Fax: 919-684-4288
Email: mary.oris@duke.edu
Program Coordinator:Kelly Suñé
Phone: 919-684-9647
Email: kelly.sune@duke.edu

Einstein-Rockefeller-CUNY Center for AIDS Research

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room 605A
Bronx, N.Y. 10461
Phone: 718-430-2740
Fax: 718-430-2374

Website: https://einsteinmed.edu/centers/erc-center-for-aids-research/

Director:Harris Goldstein, M.D.
Phone: 718-430-2156
Email: harris.goldstein@einsteinmed.edu
Associate Director:Marina Caskey, M.D.
Phone: 212-327-7396
Email: mcaskey@rockefeller.edu
Associate Director:Betsy Herold, M.D.
Phone: 718-839-7460
Email: betsy.herold@einsteinmed.edu
Associate Director:Denis Nash, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Phone: 646-364-9627
Email: denis.nash@sph.cuny.edu
Administrator:Georgia Veroutis
Phone: 718-430-2740
Email: georgia.veroutis@einsteinmed.edu
Program Administrator:Sonya Rusanov, M.P.H.
Phone: 718-430-8634
Email: sonya.rusanov@einsteinmed.edu

CFAR at Emory University

Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, NE, 8th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: 404-727-2924
Fax: 404-727-9853

Email: cfaradmin@emory.edu
Website: http://www.cfar.emory.edu/

Co-Director, Basic Science:Ann Chahroudi, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: 404-727-9209
Email: ann.m.chahroudi@emory.edu
Co-Director, Clinical Science:Carlos del Rio, M.D.
Phone: 404-616-6779
Fax: 404-525-2957
Email: cdelrio@emory.edu
Co-Director, Prevention Science:Colleen Kelley, M.D., M.P.H
Phone: 404-712-1823
Email: colleen.kelley@emory.edu
Administrator:Shelle W. Bryant
Phone: 404-727-9437
Fax: 404-727-9853
Email: sbryant@emory.edu
Assistant Director, Programs & Engagement:Jenny Anderson, M.P.A
Phone: 404-727-2924
Fax: 404-712-8879
Email: jenny.anderson@emory.edu

CFAR at Harvard University

Harvard University Center for AIDS Research
42 Church Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

Email: cfar@harvard.edu
Website: http://cfar.globalhealth.harvard.edu

Co-Director:Rajesh T. Gandhi, M.D.
Phone: (617) 724-9690
Email: RGANDHI@mgh.harvard.edu
Co-Director:Ingrid Bassett, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone: (617) 726-0637
Email: ibassett@mgh.harvard.edu
Administrative Director:Mark P. Ingaciola
Phone: 617-384-9039
Fax: 617-384-9037
Email: mark_ingaciola@harvard.edu

CFAR at Johns Hopkins University

Johns Hopkins University
1550 Orleans Street, CRB-2 Room 1M.08
Baltimore, MD 21231

Website: http://hopkinscfar.org/

Co-Director:Richard E. Chaisson, MD
Phone: 443-287-1035
Fax: 410-955-0740
Email: rchaiss@jhmi.edu
Co-Director:Shruti Mehta, Ph.D, M.P.H
Phone: 443-297-3837
Fax: 410-614-8371
Email: smehta@jhu.edu
Administrator:Anne R. Efron, MSN, MPH
Phone: 410-502-2803
Fax: 410-955-0740
Email: aefron1@jhmi.edu

Providence/Boston CFAR

CFAR Building, #135
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-793-4068
Fax: 401-793-4861

Website: www.provboscfar.org

Director:Susan Cu-Uvin, M.D.
Phone: 401-793-4775
Fax: 401-793-4779
Email: Scu-Uvin@lifespan.org
Associate Director:Andrew J. Henderson, Ph.D.
Phone: 617-414-5240
Email: Andrew.henderson@bmc.org
Associate Director:Larry K. Brown, M.D.
Phone: 401-793-8808
Email: lkbrown@lifespan.org
CFAR Program Administrator:Lauri Bazerman
Email: LBazerman@Lifespan.org

CFAR at University of Alabama at Birmingham

256 Bevill Biomedical Research Building
845 19th Street-South, BBRB 256
Birmingham, AL 35294-2170
Phone: 205-934-2437 (205-934-AIDS)

Website: http://www.uab.edu/cfar/

Director:Renee Heffron, Ph.D.
Phone: 205-934-7349
Email: rheffron@uabmc.edu
Co-Director:Paul Goepfert, M.D.
Phone: 205-975-5567
Email: pgoepfert@uabmc.edu
Co-Director:Michael Mugavero, M.D.
Phone: 205-996-5822
Email: mmugavero@uabmc.edu
Associate Director:Donna C. Porter, Ph.D.
Fax: 205-934-1640
Email: donnaporter@uabmc.edu

CFAR at UCSD

The HIV Institute
San Diego Center for AIDS Research
UC San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0716
La Jolla, CA 92093-0716

Website: https://cfar.ucsd.edu

Co-Director:Davey Smith, M.D., M.A.S.
Phone: 858-642-1620
Email: davey@ucsd.edu
Co-Director:Doug Richman, M.D.
Phone: 858-552-7439
Email: drichman@ucsd.edu
Administrative Director:Elizabeth Johnson
Phone: 858-246-2103
Email: liz@ucsd.edu
Associate Administrative Director:Bryna Block
Phone: 858-822-5983
Email: blblock@health.ucsd.edu

UCSF-Gladstone CFAR

University of California, San Francisco
1700 Owens Street
Suite 316
San Francisco, CA 94121

Website: http://cfar.ucsf.edu

Director:Monica Gandhi, M.D., MPH
Phone: 415-476-4082, ext. 127
Fax: 415-476-6953
Email: monica.gandhi@ucsf.edu
Co Director:Peter Hunt, M.D.
Phone: 628-206-8165
Fax: 628-206-8091
Email: peter.hunt@ucsf.edu
Co Director:Mallory Johnson, Ph.D.
Phone: 415-476-2163
Fax: 415-476-5348
Email: Mallory.johnson@ucsf.edu
Associate Director:Lauren Sterling
Phone: 415-575-0503
Email: Lauren.Sterling@ucsf.edu

CFAR at University of Miami

University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
BCRI 712
1580 NW 10th Ave
Miami, FL 33136

Website: http://cfar.med.miami.edu/

Director:Savita Pahwa, M.D.
Phone: 305-243-7732
Fax: 305-243-7211
Email: spahwa@med.miami.edu
Co-Director:Mario Stevenson, Ph.D.
Phone: 305-243-2689
Email: mstevenson@med.miami.edu
CFAR Program Administrator:Monique Shaw
Phone: 305-243-3423
Fax: 305-243-7211
Email: mxs2906@med.miami.edu
Senior Administrative Assistant:Rosie Plog
Phone: 305-243-8125
Email: rbp59@med.miami.edu

CFAR at University of North Carolina

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
UNC Centers for AIDS Research
Room 22-006, Lineberger Bldg., CB 7295
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7295

Website: http://unccfar.org/

Co-Director:Ronald Swanstrom, Ph.D.
Phone: 919-966-5710
Fax: 919-966-8212
Email: Ron_swanstrom@med.unc.edu
Co-Director:David Margolis, M.D.
Phone: 919-260-5396
Fax: 919-966-6714
Email: dmargo@med.unc.edu
Associate Director:Audrey Pettifor, Ph.D.
Phone: 919-966-2089
Email: apettif@email.unc.edu
Associate Director:Myron Cohen, M.D.
Phone: 919-966-2536
Fax: 919-966-6714
Email: mscohen@med.unc.edu
Associate Director:Prema Menezes, Ph.D.
Phone: 919-966-1558
Fax: 919-966-6714
Email: prema_menezes@med.unc.edu

CFAR at the University of Pennsylvania, the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and the Wistar Institute

Penn Center for AIDS Research
Room 522 Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6114

Website: http://www.med.upenn.edu/cfar/

Director:Ronald G. Collman, M.D.
Phone: 215-898-0913
Fax: 215-573-4446
Email: collmanr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Co-Director:Robert Gross, M.D.
Phone: 215-898-2437
Fax: 215-573-5315
Email: grossr@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Associate Director:Kate Gordon, M.A.
Phone: 215-573-7354
Fax: 215-573-7356
Email: gordonk@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
CFAR Program Manager:Mandi Bell
Email: BellAma@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu

CFAR at University of Washington/Fred Hutch

UW/Fred Hutch Center for AIDS Research
University of Washington 
3980 15th Avenue NE, Box 351620 
Seattle, WA 98195

Website: http://cfar.washington.edu

Director:Connie Celum, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone: 206-520-3824
Email: ccelum@uw.edu
Co-Director:Kenneth Mugwanya, MBChB, MS, PhD
Phone: 206-520-3806
Email: mugwanya@uw.edu
Co-DirectorJulie Dombrowski, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone:  206-744-5640
Email:  jdombrow@uw.edu
Associate Director:Grace John Stewart, MD, MPH, PhD
Phone:  206-543-4278
Email:  gjohn@uw.edu
Associate Director:Corey Casper, M.D., M.P.H.
Phone: 206-858-6054
Fax: 206-858-6298
Email: corey.casper@aahi.org
Associate Director:Susan P. Mello, EMPA
Phone: 206-616-2956
Email: spmello@uw.edu
Associate Director:Juliana McElrath, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: 206-667-6704
Fax: 206-667-7767
Email: ​​​​​​jmcelrat@fredhutch.org
Director, Office of Community Engagement:Louis Shackelford, MPH
Phone: 206-667-5370
Email: lshackel@fredhutch.org
Director, Equity Diversity and Inclusion:Nina Kim, MD, MPH
Phone: 206-541-0448
Email: hyangkim@uw.edu

Third Coast Center for AIDS Research
625 N. Michigan Avenue #14-005
Chicago, Illinois 60611

Email: CFAR@northwestern.edu
Website: http://thirdcoastcfar.org

Director:Brian Mustanski, Ph.D.
Phone: 312-503-6509
Email: brian@northwestern.edu
Co-Director:Richard T. D'Aquila, M.D.
312-503-6206
Email: richard.daquila@northwestern.edu
Associate Director:Justin Schmandt, M.P.H.
Phone: 312-503-4675
Email: justin.schmandt@northwestern.edu
Research Administrator:Christy Allen
Phone: 312-503-4624
Email: christine.allen@northwestern.edu

Tennessee Center for AIDS Research
Division of Infectious Diseases
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
A2200 Medical Center North
1161 21st Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37232-2605
Phone: 615-343-8776

Email: tn-cfar@vumc.org
Website: https://tn-cfar.org/

Director:Simon A Mallal, M.B.B.S.
Phone: 615-322-2035
Fax: 615-322-6160
Email: s.mallal@vumc.org
Associate Director at Vanderbilt:David W Haas, M.D.
Phone: 615-936-8594
Fax: 615-936-2644
Email: david.haas@vumc.org
Associate Director at Meharry:James E.K. Hildreth, Ph.D. M.D.
Phone: 615-327-6904
Email: jhildreth@mmc.edu
Research Program Manager:Vickie Myers, B.S.
Phone: 615-327-6277
Email: vickie.m.myers@vumc.org

Texas Developmental Center for AIDS Research
Baylor College of Medicine
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
(McGovern Medical School, Cizik School of Nursing, and the
School of Public Health) and Texas Biomedical Research Institute
One Baylor Plaza, BCM285
Houston, TX, 77030

Website: https://www.bcm.edu/

Director:Thomas P. Giordano, MD, MPH
Phone: 713-798-8918
Email: tpg@bcm.edu
Co-Director:Roberto C. Arduino, MD
Phone: 713-500-6731
Email: Roberto.c.arduino@uth.tmc.edu
Co-Director:Deepak Kaushal, PhD
Phone: 210-258-9209
Email: DKaushal@txbiomed.org
Co-Director:Andrew P. Rice, PhD
Phone: 713-798-5774
Email: arice@bcm.edu
Associate Director:Carmen E. Avalos, MD
Phone: 713-798-7728
Email: Carmen.Avalos@bcm.edu

UCLA-CDU CFAR

University of California, Los Angeles and the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
911 Broxton Avenue, Suite 200
Los Angeles, CA 90024

Website: https://cfar.ucla-cdu.org

Co-Director:Jerome A. Zack, Ph.D.
Phone: 310-825-0876
Email: jzack@ucla.edu
Co-Director:Judith Currier, M.D.
Phone: 310-825-6689
Email: jscurrier@mednet.ucla.edu
Co-Director:LaShonda Spencer, M.D.
Phone: 323-377-0520
Email: lashondaspencer@cdrewu.edu
Managing Director (Scientific):Kathie Ferbas, Ph.D.
Phone: 310-780-3639
Email: kferbas@mednet.ucla.edu
Managing Director (Operations):Jina Lee
Phone: 310- 794-5335
Email: jinalee@mednet.ucla.edu

NIH Co-Funding and Participating Institutes and Centers

Content last reviewed on