Centers for AIDS Research (CFAR) Site Contacts

CFAR at Case Western Reserve University/University Hospitals of Cleveland

Case Western Reserve University
Department of Molecular Biology and Microbiology

10900 Euclid Avenue
Room W200; LC 4960
Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone 216-368-3420 (main)

Website: http://cfar.case.edu/

Director: Jonathan Karn, Ph.D.
216-368-3915
jonathan.karn@case.edu
Co-Director: Michael M. Lederman, M.D.
216-844-8786
lederman.michael@clevelandactu.org
Financial Administrator: Dorothy Canepari
216-368-3947
dorothy.canepari@case.edu
Coordinator: Brinn Omabegho
216-368-3915
beo3@case.edu
District of Columbia CFAR George Washington University, American University, Children's National Medical Center, Georgetown University, Howard University, and Washington DC Veterans Affairs Medical Center

950 New Hampshire Ave., NW
5th Floor
Washington DC, 20052

Website: https://dccfar.gwu.edu/

Director: Alan E. Greenberg, M.D., M.P.H.
202-994-0612
202-994-0082 Fax
aeg1@gwu.edu
Co-Director: Gary Simon, M.D., Ph.D., M.A.C.P.
202-741-2234
202-741-2241 Fax
gsimon@mfa.gwu.edu
Administrative Director: Patti Simon, M.P.H.
202-994-3095
psimon@email.gwu.edu
Scientific Specialist: Brandi Robinson, M.P.H.
202-994-4730
bnrobin@gwu.edu
Duke Center for AIDS Research

Duke Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)
204 SORF (Bldg. 41), LaSalle St. Extension
Box 2926 Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710-2926
Phone: 919-684-5572
Fax: 919-684-4288

Website: http://cfar.duke.edu

Director: Kent Weinhold, Ph.D.
919-684-5572
919-684-4288 Fax
kjw@duke.edu
Administrator: Mary Oris
919-684-6875
919-684-4288 Fax
mary.oris@duke.edu
CFAR at Emory University

Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, NE, 8th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-2924
404-727-9853 Fax
Email: cfar@sph.emory.edu

Website: https://sph.emory.edu/departments/bshe/research/cfar/index.html

Co-Director: Carlos del Rio, M.D.
404-616-6779
404-525-2957
cdelrio@emory.edu
Co-Director: James W. Curran, M.D., M.P.H.
404-727-8720
404-727-9853 Fax
jcurran@sph.emory.edu
Co-Director: Eric Hunter, Ph.D.
404-727-9248
404-727-9316
eric.hunter2@emory.edu
Assistant Director for Programs: Kimberly S. Hagen, Ed.D.
404-727-8855
404-727-9853 Fax
kbs@sph.emory.edu
Administrator: Shelle Bryant
404-727-9437
404-727-9853 Fax
sbryant@emory.edu
CFAR at Harvard University

Harvard Institute for Global Health
Harvard University Center for AIDS Research
104 Mt. Auburn Street, 3rd Floor
Cambridge, MA 02138
Email: cfar@harvard.edu

Website: http://cfar.globalhealth.harvard.edu

Director: Bruce D. Walker, M.D.
617-724-8332
617-726-4691 Fax
bwalker@partners.org
Co-Director: Myron Essex, D.V.M., Ph.D.
617 432 0975
617 739 8348 Fax
messex@hsph.harvard.edu
Administrator: Mark P. Ingaciola
617-384-9039
617-384-9037 Fax
mark_ingaciola@harvard.edu
CFAR at Johns Hopkins University
Johns Hopkins University
1550 Orleans Street, CRB-2 Room 1M.08
Baltimore, MD 21231

Website: http://hopkinscfar.org/

Co-Director: Richard E. Chaisson, MD
443-287-1035
410-955-0740 FAX
rchaiss@jhmi.edu
Co-Director: Chris Beyrer, MD, MPH
410 614-5247
410 614-8371 Fax
cbeyrer@jhsph.edu
Administrator: Anne R. Efron, MSN, MPH
410-502-2803
410-955-0740 FAX
aefron1@jhmi.edu
Providence/Boston CFAR

CFAR Building, #135
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-793-4068
Fax: 401-793-4861

Website: www.provboscfar.org

Director: Susan Cu-Uvin, M.D.
401-793-4775
401-793-4779 Fax
Scu-Uvin@lifespan.org
Associate Director: Jerrold Ellner, MD
617-414-3510
jerrold.ellner@bmc.org
Associate Director: Larry K. Brown, MD
401-793-8808
lkbrown@lifespan.org
Administrative Director: Vicki C. Godleski
401-793-4068
401-793-7797 Fax
vgodleski@lifespan.org
CFAR at University of Alabama at Birmingham

256 Bevill Biomedical Research Building
845 19th Street-South, BBRB 256
Birmingham, AL 35294-2170
205-934-2437 (205-934-AIDS)

Website: http://www.uab.edu/cfar/

Director: Michael S. Saag, M.D.
205-934-7349
205-934-1640 Fax
msaag@uab.edu
Administrator: Donna C. Porter, Ph.D.
205-934-8271
205-934-8888 Fax
dcporter@uab.edu
CFAR at UCLA

University of California, Los Angeles
10940 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1200
Los Angeles, CA 90024

Website: http://aidsinstitute.ucla.edu/

Director: Jerome A. Zack, Ph.D.
310-825-0876
310-825-6192 Fax
jzack@ucla.edu
Co-Director: Irvin S.Y. Chen, Ph.D.
310-825-4793
310-794-7682 Fax
syuchen@mednet.ucla.edu
Scientific Administrator: Kathie Grovit Ferbas, Ph.D.
310-794-4419
310-794-3955 Fax
Operations Administrator: Jina Lee
310-794-5335
310-794-3955 Fax
jinalee@mednet.ucla.edu
CFAR at UCSD

AIDS Research Institute
Center for AIDS Research 0716
UC San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0616

Website: https://cfar.ucsd.edu

Director: Douglas Richman, M.D.
858-552-7439
858-552-7445
drichman@ucsd.edu
Administrator: Kimberly Schafer
858-534-5545
619-543-4746 Fax
kschafer@ucsd.edu
CFAR at UCSF/GIVI

University of California, San Francisco
1700 Owens Street
Suite 316
San Francisco, CA 94121

Website: http://cfar.ucsf.edu

Director: Paul A. Volberding, M.D.
415-750-2037
415-750-2182 Fax
paul.volberding@med.va.gov
Director: Warner C. Greene, M.D., Ph.D.
415-734-4805
415-355-0153 Fax
wgreene@gladstone.ucsf.edu
Managing Director Lauren Sterling
415-575-0503
Lauren.Sterling@ucsf.edu
CFAR at University of Miami

University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
BCRI 712
1580 NW 10th Ave
Miami, FL 33136

Website: http://cfar.med.miami.edu/

Director: Savita Pahwa, M.D.
305-243-7732
305-243-7211 Fax
spahwa@med.miami.edu
Associate Director: Margaret A. Fischl, M.D., FACP
305-243-3847
305-545-6705
mfischl@med.miami.edu
Senior Administrator: Melanie Weiss
305-243-3345
m.weiss11@med.miami.edu
CFAR at University of North Carolina

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
UNC Centers for AIDS Research
Room 22-006, Lineberger Bldg., CB 7295
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7295

Website: http://unccfar.org/

Director: Ronald I. Swanstrom, Ph.D.
919-966-5710
919-966-8212 Fax
risunc@med.unc.edu
Associate Director: Myron Cohen, M.D.
919-966-2536
919-966-6761 Fax
mscohen@med.unc.edu
Managing Director: Prema Menezes, Ph.D., PA-C
919-843-8607
prema_menezes@med.unc.edu
CFAR at the University of Pennsylvania, the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and the Wistar Institute

Penn Center for AIDS Research
Room 522 Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6114

Website: http://www.med.upenn.edu/cfar/

Director: Ronald G. Collman, M.D.
215-898-0913
215-573-4446 Fax
collmanr@mail.med.upenn.edu
Co-Director: James A. Hoxie, M.D.
215-898-0261
215-573-7356 Fax
hoxie@mail.med.upenn.edu
Associate Director: Kate Gordan, M.A.
215-573-7354
215-573-7356 Fax
gordonk@mail.med.upenn.edu
CFAR at University of Rochester

University of Rochester Medical Center
575 Elmwood Avenue
Rochester, NY 14642

Website: http://www.urmc.rochester.edu/dcfar/

Director: Steve Dewhurst, Ph.D.
585-275-3216
585-473-9573 Fax
stephen_dewhurst@urmc.rochester.edu
Co-Director: Michael C Keefer, M.D.
585-275-8058
585-442-9328 Fax
michael_keefer@urmc.rochester.edu
Administrator: Laura Enders, RN, BSN, MBA
(585) 273-2939
585-473-9573 (Fax)
Laura_Enders@urmc.rochester.edu
CFAR at University of Washington/Fred Hutch
Harborview Medical Center
325 Ninth Avenue, Box 359931
Seattle, WA 98104-2499

Website: http://cfar.washington.edu

Director: Jared Baeten, MD, Ph.D.
206-520-3808
jbaeten@uw.edu
Co Director: King K. Holmes, M.D., Ph.D.
206-744-3620
206-744-3694 Fax
kkh@uw.edu
Co Director: Ann Collier, M.D.
206-744-3293 phone
acollier@uw.edu
Co Director: Corey Casper, M.D., M.P.H.
206-667-4600
206-667-1965 Fax
ccasper@fhcrc.org
Assistant Director for Administration Susan P. Mello, EMPA
206-744-2238
206-744-3693 Fax
spmello@uw.edu
Program Manager Michelle Ward, M.P.A.
206-744-3785
206-744-3693 Fax
middlemj@uw.edu
Third Coast Center for AIDS Research Rubloff Building - Room 9–915
750 N. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60611

Email: CFAR@northwestern.edu
Website: http://thirdcoastcfar.org

Director: Richard T. D'Aquila, M.D.
312-503-6206
richard.daquila@northwestern.edu
Co-Director: Brian Mustanski, Ph.D.
312-503-6509
brian@northwestern.edu
Assistant Director: Fern E. Murdoch, Ph.D.
312-503-4624
f-murdoch@northwestern.edu
Assistant Director: Justin Schmandt, M.P.H.
312-503-4675
justin.schmandt@northwestern.edu
Tennessee Center for AIDS Research
Division of Infectious Diseases
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
A2200 Medical Center North
1161 21st Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37232-2605
Phone: 615-343-8776
Email: TN-CFAR@vanderbilt.edu

Website: https://medschool.vanderbilt.edu/tncfar/

Director: Simon A Mallal, M.B.B.S.
615-322-2035
615-322-6160 Fax
simon.mallal@vanderbilt.edu
Associate Director at Vanderbilt: David W Haas, M.D.
615-936-8594
615-936-2644 Fax
david.haas@vanderbilt.edu
Associate Director at Meharry: Duane T Smoot, M.D.
615-327-6277
615-327-6733 Fax
dsmoot@mmc.edu
Research Program Manager: Vickie Myers, B.S.
615-327-6277
Vickie.m.myers@vanderbilt.edu
NIH Co-Funding and Participating Institutes and Centers: NIAID, NCI, NICHD, NHLBI, NIDA, NIMH, NIA, NIDDK, NIGMS, NIMHD, FIC, and OAR
Content last reviewed on February 21, 2017