Immunology Interest Group (IIG) Seminar Series

All seminars are on Wednesdays and start at 4 pm EST unless otherwise advertised by email. The live seminars calendar is can also be found on this google calendar.

Seminars are available for viewing by members only as follows:

  • NIH Member only: The seminar titles listed below will be linked when the video streams are available. All Microsoft Stream videos include transcripts. To view the videos, you must have NIH credentials to log onto Microsoft Stream. All 2021-2022 seminars will be recorded as they occur and in addition to the list below, you may view a complete list of recorded seminars 2020-current
  • For FDA Members only: To view the videos, you must have FDA credentials to log onto the recorded 2020-2021 seminar access for FDA members.
  • Archived seminars older than 2020 are accessible to NIH and FDA: Visit NIH VideoCasting to watch IIG Seminar Series Videos older than 2020​. 

2021-2022

Date Speaker and Affiliation Seminar Title
Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2021 Samuel Katz, SIG FARE
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Novel approaches for high-throughput analysis reveal alternative splicing as a critical regulator of macrophage activation
Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2021 John Tsang
NIH
Do differences make a difference: integrating human immune health and single cell variations
Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2021 Ethan Shevach
NIH
Counterintuitive Immunology: Enhancement of Immune Responses by Blocking MHC I or MHC II
Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2021 Kenneth Cadwell
New York University
Host adaptations to microbial diversity
Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2021 Pamela Bjorkman
Caltech
Neutralizing antibodies against coronaviruses
Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2021 Miriam Merad
Mount Siani
Mapping suppressive myeloid programs in the tumor microenvironment
Wednesday, Nov. 3, 2021 Christoph Hess
University of Cambridge
Metabolic control of T cell co-stimulation
Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2021 John Wherry
University of Pennsylvania
Molecular mechanisms of T cell exhaustion
Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2021 Claude Perreault
University of Montreal
Discovery of Actionable Tumor Antigens
Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2021 Hedda Wardemann
Heidelberg
Clonal evolution of the adaptive immune response to the human malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum
Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2021 Brigitta Stockinger
Francis Crick
AHR functions in intestinal tissue repair
Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2021 John O'Shea, Bill Paul Lecture
NIH
Cytokine Signaling: The more things change the more they stay the same
Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2022 Kristin Hogquist
University of Minnesota
The thymus: a raucous nursery
Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2022 Deborah Fowell
Cornell University
T cell Peripheral Activation Niches
Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2022 Marion Pepper
University of Washington
Immune memory to infection and allergy
Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2022 Melody Swartz
University of Chicago
TBD
Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2022 Jennifer Gommerman
University of Toronto
Fantastic IgA plasma cells and where to find them
Wednesday, Feb. 9, 2022 Doreen Cantrell, WALS
University of Dundee
Environmental control of T lymphocytes
Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2022 Greg M. Delgoffe
University of Pittsburgh
Metabolic liabilities and opportunities in cancer immunology
Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2022 Philippa Marrack
National Jewish Health
B cells, viruses and autoimmunity
Wednesday, March 2, 2022 Nicola Ternette
University of Oxford
Driving antigen discovery by integrating proteogenomics and de novo peptide sequencing strategies
Wednesday, March 9, 2022 Catherine Blish
Stanford
Seq-ing answers to COVID-19
Wednesday, March 16, 2022 Montserrat Anguerra
University of Pennsylvania
X-chromosome Inactivation in immune cells: Understanding the female-bias of SLE disease
Wednesday, March 23, 2022 Arthur Weiss
University of California, San Francisco
Controlling a Hierarchy of Kinases Involved in TCR Ligand Discrimination
Wednesday, March 30, 2022 Ronen Alon
Weizmann Institute
Integrin cues for lymphocyte trafficking and differentiation: facts and puzzles
Wednesday, April 6, 2022 Susan Kaech
Salk
Metabolic regulation of T cells in infection and cancer
Wednesday, April 13, 2022 Alessandro Sette
Lo Jolla Allergy Institute
Adaptive responses to SARS CoV2 and its variants in natural infection and vaccination
Wednesday, April 20, 2022 Graham Anderson
University of Birmingham
Thymus Generation and Regeneration
Wednesday, April 27, 2022 Richard Flavell
Yale
Mechanisms of pathogenesis revealed by a humanized model of COVID-19
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Florent Ginhoux
STAR
Myeloid Cell Heterogeneity
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 TBD TBD
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 Garry Nolan
Stanford
Cancer rearranges the rules in tissue building blocks.  A new class of targets for therapy?
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 Joonsoo Kang
University of Massachusetts
Regulation of mucocutaneous inflammation and innate lymphocytes by cholesterol metabolites
Wednesday, June 8, 2022 Akiko Iwasaki
Yale
Immune response to SARS-CoV-2
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 Gillian Griffiths, WALS
University of Cambridge
Identifying novel genes that impact T cell effector function
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 Vishva Dixit
Genentech
Why so many ways to die?
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 Hans-Reimer Rodewald
Helmholtz
Deconvolution of hematopoiesis and immune responses by Polylox barcoding

2020-2021

Date Speaker Seminar Title
Wednesday, Sept. 23, 2020 Elina Zuniga
University of California, San Diego
Type I Interferon Induction and Exhaustion upon Viral Infection
Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2020 Caetano Reis e Sous, WALS
Crick
DaNGeRous Indigestion and Immunity to Cancer
Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2020 Michel Nussensweig, Bill Paul Lecture Human Antibody Responses to SARS-CoV-2
Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2020 Harikesh Wong
NIAID
Multicellular Control of Immunological Homeostasis
Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2020 David Artis
Cornell
Immune Regulation at Barrier Surfaces
Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2020 Stefan Feske
New York University
Ion channels regulating immunity: ORAI, STIM et al.
Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2020 Georg Holländer
Oxford
The rise and fall of the thymus: A molecular perspective
Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2020 Mihalis Lionakis
NIAID
Aberrant type 1 immunity drives susceptibility to mucosal fungal diseas
Wednesday, Dec. 9, 2020 Naomi Taylor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Metabolite shifts at the crossroads of T cell and myeloid/erythroid progenitor differentiation
Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2020 Mike Dustin
Oxford
T cells on the attack against cancer and infection
Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2020 Ken-ichi Hanada
NCI
Single-cell Analysis of Fresh Human Lung Cancers Allows Rapid Cloning of Neoantigen-reactive T-cell Receptors
Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2021 Chiara Romagnani
DRFZ
T-bet controls lymph node formation by regulating differentiation of fetal innate lymphoid cells (ILC)
Wednesday, Jan. 27, 2021 Virginia Pascual
Cornell
Human SLE: a complex interferonopathy
Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2021 Steve Jameson University of Minnesota ICOS engagement promotes establishment of CD8+ resident memory T cells
Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2021 Menna Clatworthy
Cambridge
B cells and antibodies - uncovering unexpected roles in homeostasis, autoimmunity and defense
Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2021 Leslie Berg
University of Colorado
Linking TCR Signaling to Variations in Gene Expression
Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2021 Talal Chatila
Harvard
License to Inflame: Notch4 Treg Cells in Allergic and Viral Lung Diseases
Wednesday, March 3, 2021 Jeffrey Rathmell
Vanderbilt
Fueling T cells: Immunometabolic Checkpoints in Cancer & Inflammation
Wednesday, March 10, 2021 Laura Chopp
NCI

E pluribus unum: deciphering T cell development from single-cell transcriptome and chromatin analyses

Wednesday, March 17, 2021 Steffen Jung
Weizmann Institute
Probing brain macrophage functions
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 Gérard Eberl
Pasteur
Imprinting and regulation of the immune and nervous systems by microbiota
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 Chuan Wu
NCI
Immune-neural transmission regulates gut sensation
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 Luisa DiPietro
University of Illinois, Chicago
The healing wound:  How apoptosis, phagocytosis, and scar formation intersect in the closing chapter
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 Noah Palm
Yale
Mapping uncharted landscapes of host-microbiota connectivity
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 Janis Burkhardt
University of Pennsylvania
The T cell actin cortex:  New insights into homeostatic trafficking and immunodeficiency
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 Shannon Turley
Genentech
Stromal evolution in cancer and immunotherapy
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Christina Leslie
Sloan-Kettering
Decoding T cell dysfunction and the tumor immune microenvironment
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 Susan Carpenter
University of California, Santa Cruz
How do long noncoding RNAs function to control inflammation?
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 Virginia Shapiro
Mayo Clinic
Regulation of T cell development and activation by HDAC3
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Richard Locksley
University of California, San Francisco
Innate Allergy and Tissue Resilience
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Frances Lund
University of Alabama
Inflammatory cytokine-mediated control of effector and memory B cell development and function
Wednesday, June 16, 2021 Ananda Goldrath
University of California, San Diego
Transcriptional programming of CD8 T cell responses to infection and malignancy
Wednesday, June 23, 2021 David Underhill
Cedars Sinai
Innate and Adaptive Immunity to the Mycobiome in Crohn’s Disease
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Juan Carlos Zuniga-Pflucker
University of Toronto
Teaching New Tricks to an Old Thymus
Content last reviewed on